Collaborative idea generation for ELT

Twin baby boys

What would you do with this video (of twin boys having a conversation) in your classroom? You can make any assumptions you like about the context it is used in. Post your ideas in the comments below.

Unfortunately the embed code isn’t working, so I’m afraid you have to click on the video seperately – it’s worth it!

Click here to find out the idea behind this blog.

Comments on: "Twin baby boys" (10)

  1. Oh – I’ve seen this one! Great!
    Can’t possible imagine using it with my teenage students, only with a class of adults. THEY could think of a text for this dialogue!

  2. That’s adorable!! I think there’s several ways to use this in the classroom. For one, as was mentioned by Naomi, you could have the students come up with a dialogue for the clip.
    You could also use this as a springboard for a discussion on what communication is, what are important parts of communication, etc. (for an upper level class.)

  3. I can think of two questions:

    Who do they think is the dominant twin and why?

    Why does the twin on the right not let go of the fridge door?

  4. Yeah, that video has accumulated a fantastic number of hits on youTube! I know that academics are already starting to look at it from research points of view.

    I showed it to an advanced conversation class of mine (Argentinian teenagers, 16/17) and they loved it but it was basically an end-of-class thing. A couple of classes later it was recommended to me by a 15-year old who loved it. I showed it, but it didn’t have the same effect on the rest of the class as it had on him, me and my more advanced class. Horses for courses.

    I think the video probably works in a variety of ways. With learners from non-alphabetical languages (and I suppose I am thinking the Far East or SEA here) I might actually try to get them to make notes, guessing/suggesting what the “conversation” was about and then get them to re-act the conversation WITH the Dadas. The reason for this would be the practice of body language and intonation, which doesn’t always transfer well from L1.

    You could, with your more creative classes, get them to make a running commentary or translation on the video. Something that could be funny and I might try to get the students in the right frame of mind by showing them this video (http://bit.ly/i9X7kX) of Gerard Butler’s Scottish been translated to American (though you have to judge whether that content is suitable for your class) and then break the baby conversation down in a similar way and pause after each part and allow for the “simultaneous translation”.

    For the most part, I’d probably just use it to generate discussion (accessible for all levels because there is no English to understand) or simply to raise awareness of the importance of intonation, which along with pronunciation can make a world of difference as to whether the learner is understood when speaking or not.

    No fixed lesson plans to suggest, sorry. :-)

  5. Lonitunes said:

    Instead of asking students to think of the conversation the twins are having, I would challenge my students to do ‘dadada’- conversations themselves, combining this with a discussion about non-verbal communication and the importance of intonation to carry meaning. Intonation patterns at this very young age is supposed to be universal, see the videos of Philp Zimbardo. This activity is also very useful for my student teachers in the context of L1 vs L2 learning.

  6. Some more outside the box thinking (I wish!):

    What about if you ask the students to imagine they are one of the twins, all grown up…

    How do they feel that one of their early interactions as siblings was an internet sensation (the growing number of views, shares on social media)? How could this affect someone’s life? Did their parents have the right to do this? And so on for further discussion…

  7. My suggestion:
    (have had to think about this, as my original ones have been suggested) :)
    I think this would be a great springboard for a discussion about what it’s like to be a twin, how they can communicate so deeply and have such a connection. This would be especially interesting if you happen to have any twins in your class.

    Thanks to everyone else for your suggestions so far!

  8. I noticed that members of MyEC are enjoying this video and thought of your blog instantly. Somebody posted it recently in our video gallery. I’m trying to encourage them to write the dialogue between these twins. What a great find Sandy! Please invite your students to join in: http://my.englishclub.com/video/we-are-talking-dont-bother-us

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

