Collaborative idea generation for ELT

Marmite (on toast)

After a slumber of nearly a year, it’s time to rewaken (Almost) Infinite ELT Ideas. I’ve been doing my Delta, which you can read about on my other blog. Hope it was worth the wait! :)

Marmite is an important part of British culture, and has even led to the expression “It’s a Marmite thing“, meaning you either love it or hate it. In fact, after her death, Margaret Thatcher was described as a Marmite thing by one minister.

Marmite use this idea to good effect in their advertising campaigns. Here are a contrasting pair of TV adverts from 1997:

Jim Scrivener recently shared this very simple recipe for Marmite on toast from the BBC Good Food website. I highly recommend you read the comments.

What would you do with this video/recipe in your classroom? You can make any assumptions you like about the context they are used in. Post your ideas in the comments below. All ideas are welcome (there are no wrong answers!)

Click here to find out the idea behind this blog.

Marmite

P.S. I am most definitely in the ‘hate’ camp. My aunt once asked me to make Marmite on toast for my cousin, but I failed since the smell on opening the jar was enough to make me leave the kitchen!

Comments on: "Marmite (on toast)" (5)

  1. I would cut out the ‘love it’ symbol and ‘hate it’ symbol and stick them back to back, and give one to each student, so when they’re discussing things like ‘which sports / foods / activities / types of holidays etc do you like or not like’ they can turn over their love it or hate it picture, as appropriate, and show it to their group, to start the discussion about which one they like or not. I guess it would just be a way of bringing a bit more life to a fairly boring Coursebook type activity, and making it a bit more visual.

    Ps Sandy, I’m not sure whether we can be friends anymore – I LOVE marmite :) in fact, when Ioved abroad, it was one of the things I brought with me, just in case!

  2. That’s one beautiful coincidence, Sandy! I was, and I’m not kidding, to create a lesson plan dedicated to marmite. I asked a friend to bring one jar over from England so that we can do the tasting with students. I haven’t come up with much yet, but will keep you posted. I will be using this video, for example http://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=related&v=oFhQ1UGTFXc
    Hugs

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

