Collaborative idea generation for ELT

Jamie Keddie tweeted this link on Twitter a couple of weeks ago. It’s a set of pictures published by Time magazine showing families from around the family with all of the food they eat in a week laid out around them. The pictures are absolutely fascinating, not just because of the food but also because of where the photos are taken, and I think would make a really rich source of material for your classroom. They are taken from the book Hungry Planet by Peter Menzel and Faith D’Aluisio.

Hungry Planet book cover

What would you do with these pictures in your classroom? You can make any assumptions you like about the context they are used in. Post your ideas in the comments below. All ideas are welcome (there are no wrong answers!)

Click here to find out the idea behind this blog.

Comments on: "What people eat around the world" (9)

  1. I love this book. The images are absolutely amazing and there’s so,so much you can do with them. I’ve used them with elementary students to give the whole food vocabulary thing a new and far more interesting context. It doesn’t matter which image you choose – I went for Turkey because a lot of the staples are the same in Spain so the vocabulary they learn from the image is more relevant – basically we just name and compare and students draw a rough mock-up of what they think theirs would look like and then we can look at others – students can nominate countries (obviously they wanted to see Spain), or we can flick through at random. Here’s a link to a Time magazine slide show with 11 images – I love the favourite food bit on some of these http://www.time.com/time/photogallery/0,29307,1645016_1408136,00.html

  2. Thanks for bringing this to my notice; I must have missed Jamie’s tweet. It’s definitely fascinating – I wonder how they did it; in fact, this could be an idea on its own. Did they take all they had from their kitchen and snap a photo? Did they keep a diary, then go & buy the stuff for the photo shoot? Did they brainstorm what they usually have for a week?

    I wonder what mine will be…not too good, I’d imagine. I think I ate more healthily 20 years ago! Of course, what we eat may differ significantly from what we would like to eat, because of our economical situation, for example…

    I think this deserves a post by itself as an answer – I’ll see if I can add this ball to my juggling basket 😉

  3. You’ve just given me a lesson for the class starting in five minutes! Ta! Will report back.

  4. I love pictures with a similar topic, for teaching comparatives and superlatives. The glossier and more interesting they are, the better. And, of course, depending on the group of students you have, this could generate some great conversation without any preparation. I think it would work really well for a laid-back Friday afternoon class. Thank for the great post!

  5. Hmm…

    Food is one of those topics that can explode w/ conversation ! Why not personalize it from the get-go— using funny food idioms throughout. Go through extremes and work w/ conditional “would you ever eat…”.

    Book looks awesome.

  6. I made this into a project a year or more ago and several classes made great presentations. Here’s the presentation I made. http://eflclassroom.com/flash/whatpeopleeat.swf Might be useful to others in the classroom. Got tons more like this one but love this kind of pan-world approach/comparison approach.

    David

  7. […] 4. What people eat around the world in a week – from TimePhotos (thanks to @sandymillin) […]

Leave a Reply

