Collaborative idea generation for ELT

Quizlet

Quizlet.com is a site where you can create sets of flashcards for your students. They can look at them online or on their smartphones. They can even print them.

Quizlet homepage

What would you do with it in your classroom? You can make any assumptions you like about the context it is used in. Post your ideas in the comments below. There are no wrong answers!

Click here to find out the idea behind this blog.

Comments on: "Quizlet" (3)

  1. Hi Sandy, I’ve been using Quizlet to create flashcards, especially for my young learners so that they can review the vocabulary and even the grammar presented in class at home. They love listening to the sound as they review the words and then playing the different games, “Scatter” and “Space Race”. They quite like “Learn” and “Flashcards” too, but Scatter and Space Race are definitely their favourites!!!

    When I have a new class that hasn’t used Quizlet before, I show them how to exploit the features of the site using the interactive whiteboard, and let them play a bit to motivate them. I then add the corresponding set to my blog so that students can find it easily at home and have fun practicing the target vocabulary. Hope it’s clear! Ah, another thing: I encourage my students to register at Quizlet so that their score is saved and challenge them to beat mine! Of course I don’t do my best (but don’t let them know!!!)… they just love beating my score!!!

    You can see one of my sets here: http://whereenglishisfun.blogspot.com/2011/04/children-3a-unit-4-more-games.html

  2. I created a group on quizlet. This meant I could share vocabulary for the CAE exam in one place, so that they could compete with each other. My students weren’t that enthusiastic, but I’m sure it would work with other groups!
    I also challenged my students to create their own sets and share them with others.

  3. Wow, think this site is great! I am a PGCE student and can’t wait to use it during my placement!

Leave a Reply

