Collaborative idea generation for ELT

Tripline

Tripline is a great website I found out about through Twitter. You can use it to create personalised maps showing individual locations or a longer journey, including adding photos and extra information about the places. It requires you to sign in, but it’s free and you can link it to your facebook account so you don’t have to remember extra passwords. You can also browse other people’s maps without logging in.

Here is a map I made showing all the places I visited on my year abroad in 2006 and 2007. I haven’t managed to add photos to it yet, as I haven’t had time, but one day I hope I will.

What would you do with this website in your classroom? You can make any assumptions you like about the context it is used in. Post your ideas in the comments below. There are no wrong ideas!

Click here to find out the idea behind this blog.

Comments on: "Tripline" (2)

  1. Hi Sandy!

    I love tripline too. I first saw it here (maybe you did too?) on Ian James’s great blog TEFLtecher : http://tefltecher.wordpress.com/2011/01/21/make-your-own-flightpath/
    He’s got a great list of lesson ideas at the end of the post.

    He inspired me to make my own for my blog (https://cerij.wordpress.com/2011/09/12/a-journey-in-languages/) – it wasn’t for a lesson – but it could easily be used for one. If I were working with a group of students who have all been away on holiday over the summer, then I could show them mine and then ask them to put together their own and present them to the class – or post them onto a blog.

    But I think I’d prefer to use it for some kind of group-based project work. Maybe get the students in groups to draw up itineraries in and around their town/area for groups of visitors – maybe each group could work with a different brief ( a different group of visitors).

    Or maybe the group could choose four or five different places that they’ve all visited/lived in/have relatives in and plan a presentation around those, explaining at each stop what the connection was for each student.

    I think it lends itself to groupwork because the actual language output in creating the animation is pretty low – whereas with the negotiation of itinerary, choice of photos and captions it would certainly be higher.

    Of course on a one-to-one basis, or online or in a small group, individual animations could also be presented individually with “questions from the floor.”

    Thanks for the prompt, Sandy!

  2. Hi Sandy,
    Glad you found us and thanks for the great write up! Just wanted to let you know that you can embed your playable map directly into your blog as well as the list of places underneath. If you have any questions feel free to get in touch anytime at support@tripline.net

    Thanks,

    Rick
    Tripline

Leave a Reply

