Collaborative idea generation for ELT

Man on a roof

This week’s prompt has kindly been provided by Janet Bianchini: a photo she took in Oxford.

Guess the story

What would you do with this picture in your classroom? You can make any assumptions you like about the context it is used in. Post your ideas in the comments below. All ideas are welcome (there are no wrong answers!)

Click here to find out the idea behind this blog.

Comments on: "Man on a roof" (2)

  1. janebarden said:

    I would open the picture in microsoft PAINT and rub out the man. I would then show the students the new picture and they have to guess what is missing in the picture. This is good for practising modals of deduction.

  2. Hi Jane

    I like this idea very much and I agree it would be perfect for practising modals!

    You could also get students to guess what this “person” is thinking by suggesting grammatical stems for students to complete, then compare and choose the best sentences.

    Eg

    I wish…………I could put my clothes on now.
    If only ……….I hadn’t taken up that stupid dare!
    I’ve been ……hanging around here for ages and I’m getting fed up!
    etc…..

Leave a Reply

